Call for nominations for the 2015 Volunteer of the Year Award

It’s that time of year again.

From within schools and sports programs, and from within religious institutions, there is no shortage of dedicated volunteers in our community. The Westmount Municipal Association (WMA) wants to know about them and is now seeking nominations for its Annual Derek Walker Volunteer Citizen of the Year Award.

The award honours a Westmount resident who has over many years given outstanding volunteer service to our community through any of its diverse groups, such as Contactivity, Rotary, sports and recreation, religious institutions, local schools, libraries and nursing homes, to name a few. This year’s recipient will be honoured during the WMA’s Annual General Meeting to be held on May 6th in Victoria Hall.

Previous Volunteer Citizens of the Year are Jenny Patton, Doreen Lindsay, Maureen Kiely, Tom Thompson, Janet Macklem, Mary Anne McNally, Barbara Moore, Andrew Macdougall, Nancy Wright, the late Geraldine Gahan, Mayor Peter Trent, the late Bill Morrow, Richard Lord, Sally Aitken, Jacqueline Neville, the late Vera Jamieson, and Sylvia Wedge.

If you know someone you believe has made a difference in the Westmount community, please contact the WMA with their name and a brief summary of their volunteer work.

Nominations may be sent to the committee:


or telephone Marilynn Gillies at 514 932-2026.

The deadline for submissions is March 31st, 2015

You must be logged in to post a comment.