50 Things Wrong in Westmount Park

From Patrick Barnard, who compiled notes from Marilynn Gillies, Michelle Harper, and Brigitte St-Laurent.

On Thursday June 27, 2019 four Westmount residents conducted a tour of Westmount Park, seeking to make a list of elements that need fixing.

The four citizens are:
Patrick Barnard, Marilynn Gillies, Michelle Harper, and  Brigitte St-Laurent

Emphasis is put on
perennials in these notes. A . . . → Read More: 50 Things Wrong in Westmount Park

Southeast Sector – AGIL Report in English

Finally a long-awaited English translation of the AGIL report on the revitalization of the Southeast Sector is available. It’s not easy to find on the City website so here is a copy for reference:20190201-RapportAGILSommaireExecANG

This can also be found here: Westmount.org->Urban Planning->Major Projects->Southeast . . . → Read More: Southeast Sector – AGIL Report in English

September 11th: Meet The Candidates – Provincial Election

The WMA will be hosting a Meet The Candidates Night on Tuesday September 11th, starting at 19:00 in Victoria Hall. Well known CBC Political Analyst Bernard St Laurent will moderate the event. These are the candidates who have accepted our invitation to the debate:

CAQ : Michelle Morin
Conservative: Mikey Colangelo Lauzon
Green Party: Sam Kuhn
Liberal: Jennifer Maccarone
NPD: Nicholas Lawson
PQ: Jocelyne . . . → Read More: September 11th: Meet The Candidates – Provincial Election

The WMA remembers Stan Grossman

Stan Grossman, an active member of the Westmount community, passed away on August 24, 2018. A former member of the WMA Board of Directors, he was involved with our activities until the end.

A lifelong Montrealer and longtime Westmount resident, Stan was an energetic organizer of a number of musical events in Westmount Park and at . . . → Read More: The WMA remembers Stan Grossman

Supporting fair access to community resources for a plethora of groups

Westmount is a community which is blessed by many local organizations and groups which call the city “home”. We are further blessed by allowing these groups to use public facilities for their meetings, often at no direct cost (depending on the facility).

Recently, it has been reported that one Westmount organization that has been in existence for . . . → Read More: Supporting fair access to community resources for a plethora of groups

2018 President’s Report

We are honored to invite you to our one hundred and tenth Annual General Meeting. We will present the slate of directors for 2018-2019, our financial report for 2017, membership information as well as this year’s recipient of the Derek Walker Volunteer of the Year Award, Angela Murphy.

First of all, I would like to thank Megan . . . → Read More: 2018 President’s Report

2018-2019 Board Nominations

President: Dr Paul Marriott
Past President: Dr Maureen Kiely
Vice President: Liz McCallum
Treasurer: Antonio D’Amico
Secretary: Christine Cardinal


Joanne Wallace
Gabriel Felcarek
Johanna Stosik
Lucas Smalley
Anne-Marie . . . → Read More: 2018-2019 Board Nominations

WMA AGM 23rd May – Call for Nominations

The WMA AGM is fast approaching  – Wednesday May 23rd at 18:30 in Victoria Hall – more details on the event and our topic this year –  “Round Table discussion: Making Westmount an Accessible Community” will be circulated shortly.

Before that, it’s time to call for nominations for members to serve on our board of directors for . . . → Read More: WMA AGM 23rd May – Call for Nominations

Public Meeting – Your Pool, Your Voice – April 16th

City polls indicated 81% support for building a new indoor pool in Westmount. The WMA is organizing a public meeting on April 16th at 7:00pm in The Westmount Room in the Library in order for residents to express their opinion as to what sort of pool to build and where to build it. Come and join . . . → Read More: Public Meeting – Your Pool, Your Voice – April 16th

2017 Election Results

2017 Election Results


Patrick Martin 1878
Christina Smith 3619
Beryl Wajsman 528

District 1
Anitra Bostock  259
Antonio D’Amico 255
Kirk Polymenakos 94

District 2
Philip A. Cutler [Acclaimed]

District 3
Jeff Shamie [acclaimed]

District 4
Rosalind Davis 372
Conrad Peart 497

District 5
Marina Brzeski 398
Elaine Carsley 33
Gabriel Felcarek 89
Christian Matossian 362

District 6
George Fourniotis 63
Mary Gallery 597
Joanne Wallace 128

District 7
Cynthia Lulham 424
Johanna Stosik 349

District 8
Kathleen Kez 325
Theodora . . . → Read More: 2017 Election Results